Job & New Flat

So clearly I haven’t been updating as often as I use too, but not to fear it isn’t for bad reasons I’ve just been super busy. Near the end of April I took a new job as the Communications Officer for a National Charity (I’ll not say which as it would make it remarkably easy to find out who I am). I’ve mentioned this before, but didn’t really go in to much detail.

I’d spent a few months being out of work and it was horrible, just for the shear boredom alone. For me, not having a job really affected myself esteem and self worth. One of the most difficult parts of job hunting was holding out for a job I actually wanted, instead of taking the first one that came along. Not to brag but I’m a little impressed with myself that I had the enough faith in my desire for a better life that I held out.

The job is going really well, well as well as can be expected. I enjoy the work and again not to brag I’m actually sort of good at it. I ran my first campaign for the charity and it was a huge success dwarfing anything they had had before. So I got major brownie points with my boss for that.

Speaking of my boss, (and I imagine this is true of everyone’s) but she’s a strange one. She likes to micro-manage and see everyone else work instead of getting on with her own. Which I guess would fine, but it’s to the extent that if I write one word on a page, she’ll change it to something else. The hardest part of my day is normally convincing my boss to try things my way. Hopefully that will be a little bit easier now that my first campaign has been so successful. My only gripe is that although I enjoy the work, it doesn’t excite me. Perhaps I ask for too much to have a job that I not only enjoy but excites me?

I’ve also just moved flat, I now live on my own, which if the last two days is anything to go by will allow me a hella lot more Keira time. I’ve spent the last two days in full-blown girl mode (I took a week off work to move), which has been bliss. I no longer have to worry about friends randomly showing up and can instead just relax and enjoy the time. Since I’m also working full-time I can now afford to buy stuff. Yay!

Below are the new clothes I treated myself to; they’re all from New Look. I’m happy with most of them, except for one.

I really like this dress, and personal I think I looks really nice on me (at least from the head down).

I really like this dress, and personally I think I looks really nice on me (at least from the head down). Though whenever I see myself in the mirror I do feel the need to pull my shoulders back and suck in my gut. Which is odd for me, because I’ve never been fat, in fact I’ve always been too skinny. This dress makes it look like I’ve got a fat tummy and I do not care for that. 

The skirt I love, the white crop top... not so much. When I ordered it, I didn't realise it would be quite so small and quite so see-though when on. Once again we have the perils of shopping online. I had I seen the top in the shop before hand I never would got it.

The skirt I love, the white crop top… not so much. When I ordered it, I didn’t realise it would be quite so small and quite so see-though when on. Once again we have the perils of shopping online. Had I seen the top in the shop before hand I never would got it.

Yeah the t-shirt i like. I really needed/need some more casual stuff. The t-shirt goes really well with my skinny jeans and a pair of pink Rocket Dogs I have.

Yeah the t-shirt i like. I really needed/need some more casual stuff. The t-shirt goes really well with my skinny jeans and a pair of pink Rocket Dogs I have.

One of the main perks of living on my own is not having to hide everything away when I done. Want to leave some make-up out in my bedroom? Not a problem. Cant be bothered hanging my clothes in the wardrobe? The floor is fine.

I was lucky to get a really good deal on the flat I moved in to. Basically it belongs to a friend of mine and he’s only charging me enough to cover his mortgage. I had looked one-bedroom flats and the ones that weren’t complete shit holes cost about £390 PCM and my friend is charging me £400 PCM for a two bedroom. So yeah win for Keira.

Any-who that’s what’s been going on with me. I’m going to get back to enjoying the next few days in full-on girl mode.

5 thoughts on “Job & New Flat

  1. i always enjoy reading your posts, i know what you mean about being out of work…………..brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr. i am very glad you found a new place to live and your new clothes are very cute.

  2. On my flights from Albuquerque to Bangkok to get the last remaining piece to my transition, I had a four hour layover in LA. My son lives in Studio City and he met me at LAX and took me to breakfast and then to Venice Beach (AKA Muscle Beach) before returning me to LAX for the next leg of my trip to Beijing and then Bangkok. It’s quiet in February but in summer, it’s look out for the roller bladers, not to mention the body-builders!

Leave a Reply

