Psychologist or Interview?

forkinroad1So here’s where I’m at right now, tomorrow at 10:40 I have my first psychologist appointment and at 11:00 I now have a job interview on the other side of the city. I still haven’t decided which one I’m going to go to. I want to go the psychologist because I really want to start making progress with coming to terms with my transgender-ness and this appointment has already been delayed by about three weeks and I really don’t want to have it delayed again. On the other hand I decided not to go back to university this year, which means that I am no longer a student and thus now get charged council tax. Long story short I’m dirt ass poor and my part time job isn’t giving me enough hours to cover my outgoing expenses. This thing is the job I have an interview for is at a call centre selling double glazing and I really don’t think I’m going to like it, I’m pretty sure I’m going to hate it. The thing is the base salary is a shit load more than I currently make. So what do I do guys? Psychologist or interview?

Do I go to interview and hope I get a new appointment for the not too distant future or go to the psychologist and not go for a job I really don’t want, hoping I’ll get a better job interview soon?

Any advice or thoughts you might have would be greatly appreciated.

12 thoughts on “Psychologist or Interview?

  1. What a horribly difficult decision to make. For me having to eat is pretty important so sadly probably i would go on the interview and call your therapist to make another appointment ASAP (tell her/him that you simply have to get an appointment soon. Explain what is up and he/she will understand. Take care of you..

  2. I’ve done crap jobs before just to eat. It isn’t fun, but sometimes you just need to do it and one thing can often lead to another. Don’t give up on the important stuff and look after yourself. xSib

  3. It’s a real tough situation to be in and I sympathise with how it feels when appointments are pushed back. The thing is you’re more likely to be able to rearrange your medical appointment – inconvenient as it is, than the job interview, (especially if you explain the situation to them).

    The job may not be your dream job but hopefully you do well at the interview and get it because if nothing else it’s a stepping stone and will provide you with a much better income until you find something you’ll ultimately like better that will provide enough for you to get by comfortably.

    Whatever you do, take care and good luck.

  4. Thanks for all the advice guys. Looks like go to the interview has won. Guess I am just a little worried that I’ll have wasted the appointment if I don’t get the job.

    • I totally understand that concern but as long as you get the appointment rearranged then nothing is wasted.

      Ideal situation – you get the job and a new appointment in the near future.

Leave a Reply

