The Movement- Break Free

I’d like to say that my primary infatuation with this short comes from the content, but I’m actually loving how beautifully shot it is. It really does have some quite stunning visuals along with a killer soundtrack.

Thanks given to I am what I am for sharing it.

I am what I am

‘A short film about gender roles, Trans, and what it is like to have an identity that deviates from the status quo.’

– Written/Produced/Strarring: Ruby Rose

Since first watching Ruby’s short film, I have watched it over and over again at least 16 times (whilst also introducing it to others). I had no prior knowledge of Dj, model and TV personality Ruby Rose before watching the film, yet the seemingly autobiographical story of gender identity and ‘breaking free’ of societies gender constraints is easily understood. I love how emotively powerful this short film is and how easily it breaks through the black and white notion that females are ‘feminine’ and males are ‘masculine.’ It’s truly an inspirational project and one of many contributing to positive change.

This is worth reading to understand Ruby Rose’s personal struggles and why she is such an inspirational advocate for the gender equality movement.

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2014/jul/25/ruby-rose-video-break-free-gender

View original post

Leave a Reply

