Batgirl and Gender Dysphoria

ntpq1e1idwbmkilhd0hf

The New Costume

So for those of you out there who aren’t as geeky as I am, you may not have heard the news that Batgirl is getting a new costume (and a new writer & artist); and it’s pretty freaking sweet looking. The reaction online has been mostly positive as it’s a less sexualised costume. Now since DC rebooted their universe with the New 52, Batgirl has been a title I’ve neglected to keep up to date with, but with the new writer and creative direction the comic is taking I decided to catch up; and Holy transsexual Batman! Did I ever feel pangs of gender dysphoria. I’ve said in other posts how I never really get it… I think I may have been mistaken. I think I may have felt it before but never understood what is was (Is something like that even possible?)

The Current Costume

The Current Costume

It’s her curves that caused it, for as I’m sure you’ve noticed her current costume is… shall we say, form fitting?

Obviously I’m aware it’s just artwork, but whenever I look at Batgirl I get pangs of jealousy and a little sad that I’ll never have curves like her/real girls. It’s not terrible the feeling, it makes me sigh a little and perhaps a tad blue. I can still enjoy reading the comic, which is nice.

I realise it’s silly to be envious of her figure as it’s not realistic even for  the vast majority of real woman let alone a trans one. Not to mention the feminist inside me who also thinks it’s good the new costume is less sexualised, as it will give a more realistic role model for young girls reading the comic, but it was also show young boys a female hero with a more realistic body shape, and hopefully they don’t grow up expecting ever girl they date to look like a skinny, big busted supermodel.

Any-who it has been a long day and I’m incredibly tired (got up for work at 05:30) so i’m going to get some sleep, but if you’re interested here’s the link to new costume article I read.

 

du2dc0cjd0kbjaiberdbP.s. it’s crazy how much I want the new costume for Halloween this year. Who knows maybe I’ll be out and about by then.

5 thoughts on “Batgirl and Gender Dysphoria

    • I hear ya. There are parts of the Avengers movie where I’m not sure what happens and it’s all because Scarlett’s bum. It’s very distracting.

  1. Hello! I came across this blog post by complete chance. But I had to comment as it really resonated with me. A couple of years ago, when I was still in denial about being transgender, I really wanted to cosplay Batgirl (Cassandra Cain to be specific). I came very, very close to starting the costume but I got scared and backed down. My hope is to go back and do it someday soon. It will be a nice way to mark my mental and emotional progress in a personal manner.

    Anyway, nice to meet another nerdy trans woman. 🙂

Leave a Reply

