Trans Challenge: Day 4

Q: How did your family take it when you came out? / If you are not out, why aren’t you?

A: My family don’t yet know. The main reason for this is because I want to make sure I fully understand what it is I’m feeling before I try to make others. The fact also remains that I’m unsure of how far I’m going to go/want to go with this. I’ve taken the first steps and asked my GP for a referral to a counselor and I’m not sure what is going to come from that. What I want to happen is for them to help me figure out what it is I want. Be that fully transitioning to a woman or to just carry on as I have been. Until I understand that I don’t feel the need to tell my family, when there might not be any need to tell them anything.

Recently I have been thinking a lot about what it would be like to tell my family and how they might respond. Perhaps I’m being overly optimistic, but I believe that given time they’ll be able to accept it. I mean this varies for different members of my family but the end result is the same. I think perhaps the people who might struggle to understand it the most are my little brother, who by all account is a “lads lads” and my grandparents, particularly my grandmother. Who is in every sense one of the sweetest and most caring person you will ever meet. She just so happens to also be very religious and can be quite set in her ways in regards to certain things. For example I’m under strict instructions from my dad not to tell her I’m an Atheists, I’m not sure how she’ll react if she found out I was a trans-girl. With my brother it’s a little more difficult and at the same time easier for me to understand. While I don’t think he would necessarily have a problem with a trans-sister so to speak, I think he would worry about what others would think of him by proxy. Kind of like the stigma that would come attached to my own trans status would stick to him somehow.

I could go through the rest of my family person by person, and I believe that they may each have different problems with it; none of them will outright reject me. Further more it’s things like this that ultimate make me realize that while I may not be very close to them, I am very luck to have them. Lucky to know that while they may not fully understand it, they will accept it.

Of course this is all guesswork at the moment and I may never actually find out how they’ll react, even so I still remain quietly confident in their broadmindedness and support.

3 thoughts on “Trans Challenge: Day 4

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Trans Challenge | Call Me Keira

  2. Pingback: Trans Challenge: Day 19 | Call Me Keira

  3. I didn’t come out to my family yet (that’s my father, sisters, brothers, my in-laws) .. However I’m out to my wife, my 6 year old daughter, and my 11 months old son 🙂 ..

    It’s amazing how accepting and un-conditionally loving the little ones can be ..

Leave a Reply

