Reconciling Not Normal and Not Common

I’ve said it before and in this post I’m going to say it again. I have deep seeded feelings of shame in regards to my cross-dressing and have for many years considered myself not normal. Something which I am pleased to say is receding, for while I may not be sure that I’m a transsexual girl* I am willing to admit that I at least fall somewhere under the umbrella of transgender. This in itself is proving to be quite a comforting thought. I now know that what I do and how I feel has as name, a (albeit broad) definition. It’s this that has helped me go from thinking of what I do and how I feel as not common as apposed to not normal; which, for me, makes all the difference in the world. It’s also having the knock-on effect of making the thought of telling my friends and family not the most frightening thing I can imagine. I guess I just want to make sure that I understand how I’m feeling before I try to make others.

*When typing girl I could help but smile at the fact I was referring to myself. It made me feel kind of happy and content on the inside. I’m going to file it under Sign Nine: Liked it When I Referred to Myself as a Girl.

One thought on “Reconciling Not Normal and Not Common

Leave a Reply

